Beer News, Reviews and More!

Colorado Beer Lovers Celebrate Zwanze Day At Crooked Stave

Wow, what a weekend of beer.  Even if you only had half as much fun as I did, you’re still in great shape.  My only complaint is that the weekend still isn’t long enough for my liking.  I’m still campaigning to cut the work week down and get a 3-day weekend every week, but that hasn’t happened yet…

On Saturday, we were lucky enough to attend Zwanze Day over at Crooked Stave.  After a weekend of good beer, I typically like to let the pictures do the talking, but I have some thank you notes and quick observations to share with you.

First of all, a HUGE Thank You to Chad Yakobson and his team over at Crooked Stave.  They had their hands full with the hundreds of sour beer freaks that started showing up on their doorstep as early as 3 AM on Saturday morning.  The Crooked Stave gang did an outstanding job of handling the large turnout and keeping everyone happy on a very busy day.  Thank you guys!  You rock!

Second, big shout out to the Colorado Craft Beer Community. The pre-Zwanze bottle share was nothing short of awesome and the generosity was unreal.  Huge thanks to everyone that brought beer and food to share.  I was camped out next to the table that was full of beer bottles, hoplava (hoppy baklava), doughnuts and 5 pounds of freshly grilled bacon.  If that’s not reason enough to get up at 4 AM, I don’t know what is.  You guys rock and I’m proud to be part of this enthusiastic, friendly and generous group of beer lovers.

Finally, Thank You to Jean Van Roy and Brasserie Cantillon for sending some of your amazing beer to Colorado and sharing it with us.  As if the highly anticipated Zwanze wasn’t enough, you spoiled us with Fou’ Foune on draft and bottles of Lou Pepe Framboise, St. Lamvinus, Classic Gueuze and Iris. Not to mention, my wife finally got that Cantillon shirt she’s been trying to track down for too many years to count.  Thank You Cantillon, I hope Colorado made you proud.  Cheers!

DSC_0217

IMG_1005

IMG_1004

DSC_0210

DSC_0216

IMG_1007

DSC_0220

DSC_0206

Chad handing out the magic tickets

Chad handing out the magic tickets

Hmm, Does two dates mean I have the option to buy two pours?

Hmm, Does two dates mean I have the option to buy two pours?

DSC_0244

DSC_0246

DSC_0248

DSC_0255

DSC_0230

DSC_0240

DSC_0258

DSC_0227

The international toast at 1PM MST

DSC_0235

DSC_0257

DSC_0261

Hope you enjoyed this round of pictures.  If you have comments, pictures or anything you’d like to share from your Zwanze Day experience, please send me an e-mail or leave a comment on our Facebook Page.  I’m sorry we missed Parade of Darks at Wynkoop and the Grand Opening of Black Bottle Brewery up in Fort Collins, but I’ll never forget Zwanze Day.

Good to the last drop!

Good to the last drop!

Cheers!

2 responses

  1. Pingback: Weekend Beer Buzz 12/06/2012 « Brewtally Insane!

  2. Pingback: Brewtally Insane Best of 2012: Beers, Breweries and Beer Bars « Brewtally Insane!