Beer News, Reviews and More!

Lowry Beer Garden

This week marked the Grand Opening of the Lowry Beer Garden in Denver, CO.  My wife and I were scratching our heads on Thursday night, trying to figure out what we were going to do for dinner, when we decided to take the easy out and head over to check out Lowry Beer Garden.  We packed up the monkeys (aka our kids), called up some friends to meet us and headed out.

The Lowry Beer Garden is located on the east side of town, right next to the Wings Over The Rockies Air & Space Museum.  It’s a quiet area, with little traffic, which is a huge plus for us.  As we pulled into the parking lot, our kids went bananas as we parked underneath the wing of a B-52.  I have to admit, I got a little excited myself.  It’s an impressive sight and makes for a great backdrop to the German-style beer garden.

We got our ID’s checked at the gate, my kids exchanged high five’s with the guys working and we headed in.

Once inside, we grabbed some menu’s and planned our course of attack.  When ready, they have a central point for placing orders towards the front of the beer garden.  One line is for food orders, one is for food pickup and another is for beer and drink orders (clearly the most important!).  When your order is ready, they send you a text message and you can pick it up.  For you technology fearing, non-texters out there, they have other ways of tracking you down too.

I went for The B.O.M.B., which is a burger with Bacon, Onions, Mushrooms and Blue cheese.  It was delish and at only $7, it’s tough to beat.  My wife also got a tasty burger and my kids devoured their grub as well.  Besides burgers, they have a variety of sausages, salads, appetizers and of course, pretzels.

Food’s cute and all, but let’s get serious and talk beer.  I spotted a ton of great brews on the menu.  My wife’s first choice was Boulevard’s Tank 7 Saison and I went for Avery’s Maharaja DIPA.  Glancing over the beer menu, quite a few of the selections caught my eye.  They had local fav’s from Copper Kettle, Odell, Oskar Blues and more, along with out-of-state selections including Dogfish Head, Stone and Firestone Walker.  For you Reinheitsgebot types, they even had Paulaner Hefe and Spaten.  Being the hop-lovers we are, we later moved on to pints of Odell’s Myrcenary DIPA.

As for the actual beer garden, they have both covered and uncovered seating, all of which is on long, wooden tables.  They have ping-pong and a handful of TV’s.  I had to ask about their plans for the winter.  They told me they were going to roll down the windows and keep the covered pavilion open year-round.  They have a heated floor, heat lamps and blankets available as well.

A nice, relaxing atmosphere and a great place to sit back and watch the world go by.  Count me in!  Between the great food and beer selection and the  friendly and helpful staff, we’ll be going back.  Add them to your ever-growing list of new places to check out.  Lowry Beer Garden is located at: 7577 E Academy Blvd, Denver, CO  80230.  303-366-0114.  They are open every day from 11 AM – midnight.

Check ’em out!  Cheers!

Comments are closed.