Beer News, Reviews and More!

Weekend Wrap Up 04/30/12

The weather forecasters claimed we were going to be in for some wet weather over the past weekend, but that couldn’t have been further from the truth.  It turned out to be the perfect weekend.  I hope you were able to get out and enjoy it.

We made the trip over to Prost Brewing in Denver, CO, to donate a few hours of our time and help with a little painting.  It was our first time in their facility.  Bill and Darlene Eye have picked a great location and the building is shaping up nicely.  They still have quite a bit of work left to do, but they’re making steady progress and hope to be brewing in June.  We can’t wait!  In the meantime, check out their fancy new website.

After washing off the paint, we headed over to Dry Dock Brewing in Aurora, CO, to check out their Avon Walk for Breast Cancer silent auction and special tappings.  They were pouring a Second Base Brown, brewed exclusively for the event, a Pink Tripel, Strawberry Hefeweizen firkin and a few barrel aged beers.  My favorite was the Shotgun Stout, a big 10% ABV, barrel aged, Russian Imperial Stout.  An awesome sipper!

Dry Dock’s Shotgun Stout

They had tons of items up for auction.  We perused the tables and saw everything from gift cards for local merchants, concert tickets, beers from other Colorado breweries, hotel stays, golf packages and even a pair of tickets for the Great American Beer Festival! My wife won a bid for an hour long massage and I won a Stranahan’s Whiskey Barrel!  I’ve been looking for a Stranahan’s barrel for quite some time and I wasn’t going to let this one get away.  My plan is to use it as a beer tasting table down in the man cave.

The Stranahan’s barrel really made my weekend.  Dry Dock put on a great event and raised a lot of money for charity.

In other beer news, more than 6,000 people made the trip out to Three Floyds Brewing in Munster, IN to enjoy Dark Lord Day.  Every year after I see the pictures and hear the stories, I tell myself I’ll have to go next year, yet I still haven’t gone.  I really need to make Dark Lord Day a higher priority next year.  In the meantime, there are some nice pics up HERE.  Time to make some trades and get a few bottles.  Oh, and I’ve got a special prize if anybody can help me land some Dark Lord Espresso beans.  That sounds amazing!

Happy Birthday to David Parry over at Parry’s Pizza in Highlands Ranch, CO.  He celebrated by brewing a beer with the folks at Odell Brewing up in Fort Collins, CO.  They whipped up a Pale Ale that will be available on tap at the upcoming Odell Tap Takeover at Parry’s Pizza on May 19th.  If you made it to Parry’s earlier this month for the Avery Tap Takeover, you know they put on a good show and bring out some nice, nice beers for these events.  More details to come.

Did anybody come up with tickets for Avery’s SourFest?  Tickets went on sale last Friday and sold out in under 2 minutes!!!  I got a pair, but it sounds like I was one of the few lucky ones.  Just wondering if anybody else was able to snag tickets.  I realize Avery is limited on the amount of beer available for this event, but I really wish they’d come up with a way to either host two sessions or move to a bigger venue.  It gets tougher every year.

Hope everybody had a nice weekend.  Stay tuned as I’ve got some new beers to share later this week along with some BIG events going on this weekend.  Cheers!

Comments are closed.