Beer News, Reviews and More!

A Brief Introduction

OK, here we go, another blog in a world already over saturated with forums, social networks and weblogs.   Then why?  Why should you bother reading another blog from an average joe like myself?  What makes this blog worthy of your valuable time?  Well, if it helps, I’ll say that I like Beer.  It’s delicious!  I like it so much, I’ve decided to make this blog all about the stuff.  The sweet, sweet fermented goodness that brings me joy and satisfaction at the end of my day (and sometimes the beginning and middle of my day too). 

So my blog, my piece of property in internet infinium, will be dedicated (mostly) to Beer. 

I’m not exactly an expert.  My name’s Mark and I’ve got a somewhat normal job, an amazing wife and two awesome kids.  I don’t work for a brewery or have my cicerone certification, nor am I a certified beer judge.  But, I am passionate about the stuff and am ready to share this knowledge with you. 

Welcome to the site! That's me, relaxing at Bier Circus in Belgium.

My goal and purpose of this blog is to keep you, my wonderful reader, up to date on the happenings in the wonderful world of beer.  I’ll cover what’s going on both close to home, here in Colorado and around the U.S. and maybe even the world.  I want to take you with me on adventures to breweries around town and on road trips and festivals throughout the year.  Come with me and explore different styles, learn about well-known, popular breweries, but also obscure, lesser known breweries from across the globe.  Dive into my beer cellar and dust off some aged bottles to sample and learn what, how and why to properly cellar beer in your own home.  We’ll meet some of the masterminds and artists behind our favorite beers and see what inspires them to do what they do.  Maybe we’ll even brew a batch of beer together. 

Want the buzz on the latest upcoming releases around town?  We’ll talk about it.  Ever find yourself wondering what would pair well with a nice, thick, hearty steak or a stinky, veiny chesse?  I’ve got you covered there too.  Should I keep my beer in the bottle or pour it into a glass, and if I need a glass, what kind of glass should I use?  Does it really matter?  Absolutely!  Maybe you’re having a party and want some suggestions for appetizers that will pair well with beer or want some recipes for beer infused food.  I’ll even walk you through a beer trade and give you some tips on how to track down a bottle of New Glarus Belgian Red or maybe even the elusive Three Floyd’s Dark Lord!   

Want to try some tasty beers like these from Founders? I'll tell you how and walk you through your first beer trade!

Along the way, you’ll meet my lovely wife, Patti as we bring you with us on our trips and adventures.  She’s a beer nerd, just like me. 

My wife and I at the Great American Beer Festival.

Like I said, I’m no expert, but I’ve been all around the globe in search of good beer and now it’s time to share some of that knowledge with anybody that’s willing to listen. 

Care to join me?  Grab a pint, here we go!

5 responses

  1. Shawn Hyde

    You are off to a great start reading this made me leave work a little early and grab a pint (Great Divide Hoss) just down the street from my office at the Appoloosa Grill in downtown Denver. I will keep reading just keep posting!
    Cheers

    February 29, 2012 at 4:26 pm

    • Thanks! Glad I could help 🙂

      February 29, 2012 at 4:55 pm

  2. Darrin Black

    This is cool mark …..

    March 1, 2012 at 3:42 am

  3. dave lurz

    Really cool Mark, look forward to reading

    March 1, 2012 at 5:43 am

  4. Tim Matya

    Good intro Mark. I’m looking forward to your future posts.

    March 1, 2012 at 6:17 am